Cisco CCNP Enterprise

Networking and software continue to become more interconnected with each passing day. The advances in technology enable enterprises and applications to connect literally everything, including people, devices, apps, and machines. Besides, organizations can benefit from automation to secure and scale their networking infrastructure. Therefore, modern networking professionals should have a broad range of skills and a far much deeper knowledge of the strategic technology areas. The Cisco CCNP Enterprise certification track is designed to give you as a qualified specialist exactly this depth and breadth.

The credential proves your skills with enterprise network solutions. In the past, the students should pass 3-4 tests to earn their certificate, while now they need to take only 2 exams in order to get their professional-level badge. Moreover, there is an opportunity to choose one test from the concentration category to master the domain that you are interested in. In addition, there are no longer any formal requirements for this certification path and the candidates with any background can pursue it. This track will help them validate their knowledge in the landscape of enterprise network technologies. Obtaining this credential requires passing the core exam and one concentration test. In this post, we take a detailed look at CCNP Enterprise and its exams.


General overview of CCNP Enterprise certification and its related exams

As you already know, there are two tests that you should pass to get this sought-after credential. The core exam is known as 350-401 ENCOR and it covers the implementation of Cisco enterprise network core technologies. This certification test focuses on the learner’s skills and knowledge of dual-stack (IPv4 and IPv6) architecture, automation, network assurance, virtualization, and security. These are what form an enterprise infrastructure. Cisco 350-401 is a prerequisite exam not only for the CCNP Enterprise certificate, but also for the two CCIE Enterprise credentials: Wireless and Infrastructure. All in all, this core test covers 6 main topics that the applicants need to explore in detail. They include the following:

  1. Network Assurance: 10%;
  2. Virtualization: 10%;
  3. Security: 20%;
  4. Infrastructure: 30%
  5. Automation: 15%;
  6. Architecture: 15%.
  7. Cisco DevNet Professional VCE Certifications

For more detailed information regarding these objectives, you can go to the official webpage.

You should also know that Cisco CCNA Certifications Exams is available in two languages – Japanese and English. The exact number of questions has not been disclosed to the public by Cisco, but given the trend that has been followed since the launch of this exam, it has about 100 questions. It is a 120-minute test that costs $400.

As for the concentration part of this certification track, there are six tests in this category. You need to choose just one depending on the area of your specialization. The focus of each exam is on the industry-specific & industry-emerging topics. They majorly include network design, SD-WAN, wireless, and automation. After passing 350-401 ENCOR, you need to go for one from the list. Here is a table showing a full list of all the six CCNP Enterprise concentration tests:

  • Cisco 300-410: ENARSI or Implementing Cisco Enterprise Advanced Routing and Services;
  • Cisco 300-415: ENSDWI or Implementing Cisco SD-WAN Solutions;
  • Cisco 300-420: ENSLD or Designing Cisco Enterprise Networks;
  • Cisco 300-425: ENWLSD or Designing Cisco Enterprise Wireless Networks;
  • Cisco 300-430: ENWLSI or Implementing Cisco Enterprise Wireless Networks;
  • Click here for Cisco 300-435: ENAUTO or Automating Cisco Enterprise Solutions.

Any of the concentration exams listed above can be taken either in the English or Japanese languages. Each of them evaluates a wide range of skills and lasts 90 minutes. To learn more about any of their details, the students should visit the official page of that particular test.

There are no official prerequisites or qualifications for taking any of these exams, but Cisco recommends that the candidates have about 3-5 years of experience in implementing enterprise network solutions. They should also have a strong understanding of all the topics.

Validity of CCNP Enterprise certification and its related exams

You should note that CCNP Enterprise is valid for three years. This means that if the certified professionals want to maintain their credential, they must fulfill all the recertification requirements every three years. The process should happen before the date of expiry. Otherwise, they will have to repeat it again to reclaim their status. There are a number of ways in which the certification holders can get their badge valid once more. They can do so by following these steps:

  1. Earning 80 Continuing Education Credits within the period of 3 years;
  2. Passing one Visit CCIE lab exam;
  3. Passing any 2 professional-level concentration tests;
  4. Passing one technology core exam.


CCNP Enterprise is a professional-level credential availed by Click Cisco as of February 24, 2020. This new track has already earned the status of the most popular certification path among the employers and potential candidates. So, if you want to be a skilled and in-demand specialist, then don’t miss your chance to obtain this certificate!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here